Facebook allows users to create their own groups. This feature can be very useful if you want to communicate with a certain group of people or talk about a certain theme or idea. It is actually a very straightforward process with many useful options.
To begin, click on the “Create Group” button in the left-hand-side of your homepage on Facebook. A window will pop up asking you to name the group, invite friends to be members, and set the privacy level. After naming your group, click on the small picture next to the text box to upload a logo for your group.
Next, pick friends that you’d like to join the group. Note here that Facebook will automatically add them to the group without asking their consent, so keep this in mind when deciding whom to invite. This can be an annoyance for people, but they can opt out afterward by clicking on the group page and then clicking on the “Leave Group” link on the right, located directly above the “Docs” section.
Now you can decide on the level of privacy you want for your group. If you choose the “Open” option, not only will everyone be able to see everything in the group, but they will also be able to join at will. If you want a higher level of privacy, choose “Closed,” which will still allow the group to be seen in the search results, but will only allow users to see posts. “Secret” will not allow anyone outside of the group to have access to the group.
Editing Group Settings
Now you’ll see your group page, which will look similar to the news feed on your home page. To set up the basics of the group, click on the “Edit Group” link on the right side of the page. You will see three links in the upper left corner of the page.
The first, “Basic Information,” will let you change the group name or privacy level at any time. You can also choose to only allow new members based on requests that you can approve or deny. You can create a new group email, which group members can use to send emails to the entire group. Lastly, you can write a description of the group.
The next link in the upper left corner is “Profile Picture,” where you can upload or take a picture that will represent the group.
Viewing Members & Adding Admins
The last link, “Members,” will allow you to view all members, as well as give them Admin status. This will allow them to change the group settings in the same way that you can. In this view, you can also remove members by clicking on the “X” next to their name. You will have the option of removing them, (this allows them to request to rejoin the group in the future), or banning them all together which will restrict them from ever seeing the group again.
To go back to the main group page, click “Back to Group” in the top right corner.
To adjust additional settings, click on the “Edit Setting” button in the top right corner. These are smaller details that you can adjust to your liking.
Now that the Group is Set Up…
The group is now set up, and the main page function much like a home page, where users can enter text, links, photos, videos, and questions. On the right, under the Members section, you’ll see three useful features – Chat with Group, Create Doc, and Create Event. The Group Chat feature allows you to simultaneously chat with all members of the group, (similar to an old fashioned chat room). The Create Doc function lets you create text documents that can be edited by anyone in the group. Finally, you can create events, and all group members will automatically be invited.
Deleting the Group
If you decide to delete the group, you’ll have to go to the Members page by clicking on the “Edit Group” link on the left, then removing all members. Then, go back to the group page and click “Leave Group” on the right. This will delete the page.